The Smiths are to release remastered versions of their eight albums.

Put together under the supervision of former guitarist Johnny Marr, the reissues are set for release on September 26.

The albums set for release include the band's four studio albums, 1984's self-titled album, 1985's 'Meat Is Murder', 1986's 'The Queen Is Dead' and their final studio album 1987's 'Strangeways, Here We Come'.

The band's 1988 live album 'Rank' and compilations 'Hatful Of Hollow', 'The World Won't Listen' and 'Louder Than Bombs' are also being reissued.

Released on both CD and 12'', the albums will also be released in a super-deluxe version, which will be individually numbered and strictly limited to 3000 copies only. This version will include all eight releases on both CD and 12", 25 7" singles, rare and deleted artwork, a DVD of the band's music videos and eight high-quality 12" prints of the album sleeves as well as a poster.