Kill 'Em Dead Cowboy - I Am Salvation

Power, passion and precision are plentiful on Portsmouth metallers Kill 'Em Dead Cowboy's debut full-length "I Am Salvation". Released on Valentine's Day through Lockjaw Records, the not-so romantic record sees the fiery five-piece unleash their belligerent and brutal sound.

Storming into the fifteen-track album with 'Wake Up', the opening tune combines cool clean vocals and strident screams with bludgeoning breakdowns and demonic drumming. Effortlessly incorporating elements of both the metalcore and post-hardcore genres, Kill 'Em Dead Cowboy continue to bulldoze through the ferocious full-length with significantly sharp songs like 'Save Ourselves' and 'Beneath Those Eyes'.

With its softly spoken introduction and seemingly slower-paced guitars, title-track 'I Am Salvation' is one of the more melodic tunes on offer and comes as a bit of a shock and surprise. But whilst it might be mellower than the other songs on the record, it is just as satisfying and will definitely please metal fans. Having showcased their somewhat softer side, Kill 'Em Dead Cowboy proficiently pick up the pace again with beefy and boisterous 'The Consequence. The tasty tune is reminiscent of both Southampton rockers Bury Tomorrow and tech-metallers Architects, and is guaranteed to go down a treat at live shows. Similarly, 'Lust & Lies Spell Flashing Lights', which featured on the quintet's debut EP "Darkened Dreams", has got the potential to be a huge live anthem, with breakdowns, rhythmic sections, satanic-like screams and vicious vocals making appearances in all the right places.

Other standout songs include 'Nothing Tastes Like Skinny Feels', which has an incredibly catchy chorus and bonus download track 'The Horror'. "I am Salvation" is a solid and sturdy release, which fiercely flaunts Kill 'Em Dead Cowboy's talent. These Southerners have got everything needed to be giving acts like Parkway Drive and August Burns Red a run for their money.